Address:2 Spring Street Wappingers Falls, NY 12590
Phone (main):845 632-1281
Part of the Wappingers Falls Historical District, built 1741 by two Dutchmen, Adolphus and Nicholas Brouwer, who settled here and built this Homestead plus several mills along the Wappingers Creek. Nicholas and his sons were active Patriots, supplying wheat, corn and more, without compensation, to Washington's Army. The Homestead was later sold to Peter Mesier, a Tory loyalist merchant from New York City.
Beautiful Victorian details disguise the 18th c. fieldstone core of the historic Brouwer-Mesier Homestead, which sits on a village green that has been a public park since 1891. Volunteer-led tours cover the early history of the Homestead and the Village of Wappingers Falls and tell the story of Peter Mesier, his store and the Wappingers Tea Party of 1777. Explore Victorian-era styled rooms and their displays of local antiquities.
The Wappingers Historical Society maintains the Brouwer-Mesier Homestead and Museum. Part of the tour also features portion of their large collection of Native American artifacts. The Mesier Homestead is open for free tours year-round, generally on the 2nd Sunday of the month, from 1pm-4pm. Last tour is at 3:30pm. Special student and group tours for other days can be arranged by calling 845-632-1281.
Contact Us: 800-445-3131